10 Christian Books That Will Make You Love Life

They’re some books you will probably never consider to read; even though they’re Christian books. There’s nothing wrong with that. But I believe such selective reading sometimes do us a great disservice by narrowing our views.

I normally don’t read fiction, biographies or books by authors pushing a false teaching. Honestly, I find most of the fiction sold in Christian bookstores rather boring. The best work of fiction I ever read had questionable teachings on the person of the Triune God.

The first biography I read was about Hudson Taylor. I loved the book. But I got caught up in the success coaching trail. And I began reading biographies by famous people like Jack Welch, Thomas Edison, Donald Trump, and the like. Such biographies taught you could succeed without Christ.

After finding my life in Christ, my heart was lured into health and wealth gospel. I soaked in every word written by Kenneth Copeland, Benny Hinn, Creflo Dollar, Richard Roberts, etc. And as a Pentecostal, I read C. Peter Wagner and anyone from the New Apostolic Movement.

During my success coaching days, I only read biographies by successful people. And when I was in the prosperity teaching, Harrison House and Destiny Image were my publishers of choice. It took God’s grace for me to discover I was in error.

Therefore we must pay much closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it. Hebrews 2:1

The Christian books you read can become a gentle breeze that blows you away from the coast of God’s faithful presence. For that reason, I resolved to read books beyond my comfort zone in 2017.

10 Christian Books I Read in January

10 Christian books you should read

1. Dumpster Dicing by Julie B Cosgrove

What can a couple of old ladies living in a retirement home teach about life? The friendship of course. Janie, Betsy Ann, and Ethel investigate the death of a neighbor. They found his body diced in the dumpster. Although I am not a fan of fiction, I enjoyed this book. Probably because it reminded me of the lovely families I left in the US.

2. The Battle of Seattle by Douglas Bond

Ever since Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code, like most people, I became suspicious of historical fiction books. Douglas Bond redeems the genre in this retelling of the events that shaped the US. Through an engaging narrative, The Battle of Seattle explores the paradox of faith and war.

3. Rescuing the Gospel from Cowboys by Richard Twists

This is the first book by a native American I ever read. And I got it from a great friend as a graduation gift. Twiss drew me, through his unapologetic writing, into the challenges faced by native American Christian. If you have never been called as a pagan and idolater because of your cultural dress, then read this book.

4. Tethered: Breaking Free from the Past by Baz Bhasera

Baz Bhasera’s Tethered is not just heartbreaking, it’s a masterpiece. This is a story of a man who endured the worst life can offer. Abandoned by a physically abusive father, and tragically losing his wife after a short illness. Most people would have quit God but he didn’t. I know you have more questions; read this book.

5. Sons in the Son

My grandmother had two adopted children, but all the grandkids and neighbors didn’t know. No wonder, I find it appalling when people say, “I have two kids and one adopted child.” Sons in the Son explores the nuances of our adoption in Jesus Christ. A poor view of Christian adoption will make you belittle your justification, sanctification, and redemption.

6. Katharine and Martin Luther by Michelle DeRusha

I have always viewed Martin Luther’s marriage as a mere political statement rather than a commitment to love. But Michelle DeRusha proved me wrong. Using the few available accounts on Katharine, Michelle DeRusha offers a compelling picture of Martin Luther’s love interest. But she does more, Katharine and Martin Luther illustrates how their theology formed and grew before they finally exchanged wedding vows.

7. Making Marriage Beautiful by Dorothy Littell Greco

The premise of this book is simple: you cannot love your spouse without being transformed. After all, the first step to a good marriage is accepting you’re a broken sinner,  and God is righteous, just and gracious. But what are transformed from? Wounds, expectations, and preferences. I have read several books on marriage, Dorothy Littell Greco’s Making Marriage Beautiful has won my heart.

8. Among Wolves: Disciple-Making in the City by Dhati Lewis

Here is a man, like any other African American, had a dream of becoming an athlete. That dream got dashed when no top college offered him a football scholarship. In that moment of despair, Dhati Lewis discovered his call to reach the inner city with the Gospel. In this instructive Christ-centered book, Dhati Lewis shows that making disciples is about finding your identity in God’s story, family, mission, church, and work.

9. The Whole Message of the Bible in 16 Words by Chris Bruno

Are you interested in biblical theology but find current books boring and hard to read? Chris Bruno’s The Whole Message of the Bible in 16 Words is perfect for you. In this 150-page book, Chris Bruno traced the ‘progressive development of a cluster of themes in the Bible.’ Reading this book helped me experience and explore the life of Christ in my Bible readings.

10. This is Our Time: Everyday Myths in Light of the Gospel by Trevin Wax

Your faith in God is affected by what you believe about possessions, positions, and people. And these three, if unguarded, may construct in you a secular worldview. This can ultimately lead you into deception. Trevin Wax challenges our views on technology, success, relationships, sexuality, and belonging. Get ready to have your worldview challenged.

And if you find the articles I write useful, please do not hesitate to help me pay for the web hosting ($191.78). Send anything you can afford to this PayPal account.

What do you think? Let's help each other!

