Focus Africa: Theological Gleanings From Across The Globe (January 31, 2017)

Focus Africa: theological gleanings around the globe is a collection of hand-picked articles from around the world. I hope to encourage conversation on theological matters pertaining to Africa.

Focus Africa Theological Gleanings From Around The Globe

Will You Help Me? Second Call

I need your help. The web hosting of this blog is expiring on February 21. And I’m currently not in a financial position to renew it. Besides, it’s hard for me to make online transactions from Zimbabwe at the moment. I need help with the payment of $218 for renewing the hosting until 2020. You can contact me on WhatsApp using +1 (909) 362 9364 or email edsanganyado (at) Gmail (dot) com. Consider backing me up using Patreon.

How To Write A Book

In this article, Peter J. Leithart outlines five essential stages of writing a book: ambition, contraction, panic, obsession, and wonder. I’m now at the wondering stage, having just completed my manuscript – Pew Theology. I wish more Africans would have enough ambition to write good theology books. Would you support an African author, and how?

What Is Sound Doctrine?

I have heard at least 20 people preach ever since I came back to Zimbabwe. And only two people really taught from God about God and directed me to the glory of God. Sadly, without sound doctrine, the church easily fall victim to false teachings. What can the church in Africa do to cultivate sound doctrine?

The Spiritual Crisis of the Modern Economy

‘The modern economy privileges the well-educated and highly-skilled while giving them an excuse to denigrate the people at the bottom as lazy, untalented, uneducated, and unsophisticated.’ Replace modern economy with modern Christianity and you have a summary of the sad state of some churches in some parts of Africa. Is prosperity gospel the Christian version of meritocracy?

The Guardian view on American Christianity: change and decay

“Traditional American Christianity was shaped by British experience in the 17th and 18th centuries: it was Protestant, patriotic, and providential, but not much concerned with doctrine.” I believe this is in sharp contrast to traditional African Christianity. Sadly, ‘a market-driven religion gives rise to a market-driven approach to truth.’

We went in search of the world’s hardest language

I have been married to a Venda lady for more than 6 years. It has crazy words, for example, there’s the sentence vhana vhana vhana vhana. Vhana can be four, boys or babies. Your tone determines the meaning. I think TshiVenda is the hardest language. They actually have a letter that sounds between an r and an l, ll.

Focus Africa 3

What do you think? Let's help each other!

