Help! I’m Writing Another Christian Book

I’m writing another Christian book and so I need your help. Serious help.

If you have been reading this blog since December 2015, you probably noticed the shift. It seems God was redirecting my passion and I didn’t notice. And today when I woke up it became clear – I am writing another book.

I am not sure of the correct tense; I am going to write a book, I have written a book, I am writing a book?

Here’s the background.

In November 2015, I was taking my kids to preschool and I had a rather morbid thought, “If the Lord asks me to write only one thing for the rest of my life, what will it be?”

But this question marked the beginning of a new passion. It revolutionized how I write and what I focused on. And the consequences of that change was that traffic to this blog decreased from an average of 250 page views per day to only 50.

This is why.

If I could only write one thing, it will be on taking theology from corridors of seminaries and schools of theology to the pew. I believe that’s where it’s needed the most. Yes, we need sound theology on the pulpit too, but it’s people like you and me who needs it the most.

Yet, through myths and fables we have been taught to hate theology. A friend of mine told me that he’s suspicious of theology.  Most Christians believe theology is an attempt to usurp the power of the Gospel and it undermines the ministry of the Holy Spirit.

As a result, when I started writing on why theology matters, what is theology, how to become a better theologian, and the priesthood of all believers, I lost a large chunk of my readership. But you stuck with me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

3 Reasons I’m Writing another Christian book

Help! I'm writing another Christian book.

I got a check from Amazon, it was a $100. And I spent twice that on editing and cover design. Yet, I want to write another book. I should be crazy, right?

Not really, I am writing another Christian book because…

1. It’s a Memoir and Theology Book Combo

I have always wanted to write a memoir and I have always wanted to write a book on Christian theology, but I didn’t know how to do that. If you notice from all the articles I have written they often bounce between the two.

[Tweet “God shaped my theology through suffering. And I want to share that story.”]

We all have a story to tell, but when I came back to Zimbabwe I realized God wanted me to share my story. This week, I will be sharing my story with high school kids. It’s the third time.

The first time, it was at a gathering at my wife’s rural home. I watched men and women weeping uncontrollably as I spoke. Last week on Sunday I shared my story as part of a sermon at a rural church in Nyandeni, Gwanda. God shaped my theology through suffering. And I want to share that story.

2. I love Africa and Africa needs theologians

Last week, a self-proclaimed prophet sprayed an insecticide to his congregation. He claimed by using Doom he was chasing away evil spirits. But if the congregation knew sound theology they wouldn’t have allowed the prophet to put their lives at risk.

[Tweet “It’s disheartening seeing people held at theological ransom by fake prophets. “]

On November 6th, a prominent Nigerian prophet, TB Joshua prophesied that Hillary Clinton will be the next American president. She’s not and he deleted the prophecy on his Facebook page. I’m not really worried about the false prophecy, but the millions of Christians across Africa who came to his defense even after lying.

I used to be offended by The Gospel Coalition’s Theological Famine jab. Walking around Zimbabwe, my heart bleeds watching millions of people being held at theological ransom by cunning con men masquerading as prophets. If only the people of Zimbabwe could embrace a sound theology.

3. I love Biblical hermeneutics

When I came to Christ, I was told I need to read the Bible regularly. But no one told me how. Like the Ethiopian eunuch, I continued to read the Bible my ignorance.

[Tweet “Proper Bible interpretation may release many from the trap of prosperity Gospel.”]

Fortunately, as an African and a voracious reader, I could tell the difference between poetry and prose. But I didn’t know the goal of Bible interpretation is a transformed life. This entailed knowing the original intent of the author and God. And I didn’t know how.

As a result, I was caught up in the prosperity Gospel from 2003 until 2009. I read Christian books by Frederick KC Price, Kenneth and Gloria Copeland, and so forth. Harvest House was my favorite publisher until God granted me the grace to see the evil of the prosperity Gospel. But many Africans are still trapped in this false teaching and they need to understand proper Bible interpretation.

7 important areas I need your help

As an African, I know it takes a village to raise a child. This book is my new baby and I need your help. Here’s how you can help.

1. Name of the Christian book

The title of the book will be Pew Theology. Can you help me come up with a subtitle?

2. Book Content

The book will chronicle my journey from African syncretic Christianity, Jesus hatred, Pentecostal, prosperity theology to Reformed Charismatic. Do you have anything else you want me to address?

3. Serious editing

After I finish writing and editing the book, I need serious help with editing. From substantive to line editing, I would be glad if you could help.

4. Cover design

It’s true, people judge a book by its cover. If you’re a graphic designer or know someone who can help, please help me.

5. In text comments

I would love to include your thoughts in this Christian book. If you could read the following posts and send me a comment by email or on the post that will be great.

  1. What is theology really?
  2. Theology Matters: A case study of Christianity in Africa
  3. Biblical hermeneutics
  4. How to become a theologian

6. Translation

The three common languages in Africa are English, French and Portuguese. I need help translating into French and Portuguese.

7. Book availability

Here’s the greatest challenge: how can we make the book available in Africa? The best way is to have the books heavily subsidized or free. And that costs money. Would you be willing to help me carry out a crowdfunding campaign?

15 Comments

  1. When I began to read this post, my initial thought was from 1 Timothy 4:16, Paul’s words to a mentee in the faith. He said, “Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.” It’s commendable that you are so passionate about teaching sound doctrine through proper theology.

    The word theology should not scare us. The word simply means ‘the study of God and his relation to the world.’ We should all want to know God and how we continue to form a closer relationship with him.

    I will read the links you’ve included here and provide comments on each individual post as I do. I am a freelance writer with university training in writing and editing. Have been working as a writer/editor since 1982. I also have some knowledge of how to choose artwork for covers. You are so right about needing a good title and attractive cover. To start, KISS. Keep It Simple, Son and as far as the cover, keep it clean and uncluttered.

    I’ll also think about a good subtitle for the book as I read your suggested posts. I’m working on a book too and, although I have a great “working title,” coming up with a good descriptive but short subtitle was difficult.

    God bless your efforts as you write to glorify God and to teach others sound doctrine. We must get out of our pews where we simply listen to someone else do the teaching and walk in our knowledge of God and his son, Jesus Christ. Our Lord said himself, “Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent.” (John 17:3)

    Like

    Reply

  2. Brother

    Here are a couple of quick thoughts:

    The subtitle: Restoring theology to the place where it belongs.

    In regards to all things publishing: I’ve joined a group on Facebook called the Time is Write. It is a group of mostly charismatic authors who self-publish and help each other find resources such as cover artists and editors. If you find me on Facebook (Travis Kolder) I’ll gladly introduce you to the group.

    Hope these thoughts are somewhat helpful.

    Like

    Reply

  3. You’re correct Edmond that theology means the study of God. I Di suspect most people think theology is abstraction rather than a connection with their daily lives. I don’t have a subtitle suggestion, just this thought.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Edmond, I am very glad you are led to write this book. A possible subtitle for this book would be: A layman’s guide to a simpler faith. I plan on reviewing it on my blog when it is published.

    I would also like to offer my services as a volunteer copy-editor for the English version.

    While I don’t know much about crowdfunding myself I can put you in touch with a friend who has experience with self-publishing a few books of his own. He may be able to help you.

    We Christians in America can also profit from your book it seems. Rich as we already are, we too are ensnared by the prosperity gospel. God bless your efforts!

    Like

    Reply

  5. I would be happy to help edit and review the book!

    Your subtitle will probably be everything. It should carry something about the layman’s fear of heavy theology, and perhaps something about your journey from where you were theologically to where you are now.

    Let me know what you need.

    Like

    Reply

  6. Hi.
    How about you break it up into a series of smaller books?
    “Pew Theology: Why You Need to Know What You Need to Know”
    “Pew Theology: Get Up and Stand for Christ”
    “Pew Theology: When Jesus says, ‘Follow Me'”
    “Pew Theology: Fish, Faith, and Freedom”

    Just some thoughts.
    Dave

    Like

    Reply

  7. I am always amazed by how God works, how that when the Lord called me to be a Christian Counselor, so many doors would be opened as to overwhelm me.
    Furthermore, we share a commonality in being brought up in the Pentecostal church. Yet mine goes beyond that since I was spread out to Church of God, and Freewill Baptist with Pentecostal Faith.
    I would really like to talk to you and if I can help with several of your needs.
    Please look for me on Facebook under the name
    Bryan Mims
    I live in Cades SC
    This should help you find me, and I really think that I can take some of the pressure off of your life.

    Please RSVP so I will know that you got this message!
    Most Sincerely,
    BryanAbir

    Like

    Reply

What do you think? Let's help each other!

