6 Shocking Things The Bible Say About Women You Need To Know

Women of the Bible can teach us a lot about the Christian life. Several women in the Bible show us the depth of God’s grace. Remember Sarah, Hagar, Rahab, Tamar, Ruth, and Bathsheba. But they’re three female names in the Bible very few people know but should know. The names of the three daughters of Job.

Societies celebrated in the Old Testament were highly patriarchal. It seems women were viewed as second class citizens in the Bible. Feminists are annoyed by this.  And it arms atheists with reasons to dismiss Christianity. The Christian God is a misogynistic man, they say.

Why are the names of Adam and Eve’s daughters not mentioned in the Bible?

Why is the Bible quick to mention the names of women when they are involved in something bad; Tamar, Bathsheba, Noah’s daughters?

Do men have kids on their own? Why are wives ignored in genealogies? Why are daughters not mentioned in the genealogies?

These questions are unsettling. And most women want answers. Christian women.

I know several women of the Bible who were strong and exemplary women, but I still had similar questions. The questions kept haunting me because of a troubling trend I noticed:

  1. Gender-neutral Bible- to accommodate women readers.
  2. Gender-neutral God- to avoid offending women and gender queer audience.
  3. Female God/Holy Spirit- to embrace maternal attributes of the Godhead.

Dear reader, brace yourself because what you’re about to read is going to shock you and send you into a frenzy. Don’t be ashamed to shout and jump as you read. Your friends will love you if you share with them this post on Facebook, Twitter or WhatsApp and I will love it if you leave a comment below.

2016 is an exciting year at my church because we’re reading through the Bible, from Genesis to Revelation. We’re using Reading God’s Story: One Year Chronological Plan. You should sign up for this Bible reading plan. I promise you, you’ll love it.

Two weeks ago, I was finishing up the book of Job, and I noticed something shocking.

The names of Job’s children before the calamity are never mentioned. Job 1:2, 4, 13, 18

Then comes chapter 42.

Everything changes. This is the scripture the devil doesn’t want women to read. He knows your life will never be the same after you read it.

Are you ready to have your mind blown?

Here we go…

And the Lord restored the fortunes of Job… He had also seven sons and three daughters. And he called the name of the first daughter Jemimah, and the name of the second Keziah, and the name of the third Keren-happuch. And in all the land there were no women so beautiful as Job’s daughters. And their father gave them an inheritance among their brothers. 

Job 42:10, 13-15

Did you see that?

They’re three things you need to note in this passage.

1. Why does the Bible only mention the names of women?

In patriarchal societies, ignoring your sons for daughters was scandalous. The writer of Job does exactly that by focusing only on the daughters of Job.

2. Can we learn anything from the names of these women of the Bible?

Jemimah- day by day- a picture of God’s daily grace. Keziah- the bark of a perfume that looks like cinnamon and Keren-happuch- the horn of antimony. It seems Job is saying something to you. Day by day remember; you’re not merely a perfume, but the bark were perfumes come from, you’re not only spice but the precious horn where spices are kept.

3. Why did the daughters of Job receive an inheritance

Job’s daughters received an equal share of the estate. Zelophehad’s daughters only received an inheritance because their father had no sons. It seems Job’s restoration meant the recovery of biblical womanhood.

Isn’t this a picture of what your restoration in Christ looks like? Amy Oden once said about Proverbs 31:

doesn’t say anything about her appearance or physical appeal. There is nothing about weight, shape, clothes, make-up or make-over, the sole topics of women’s worth if the current popular culture in America were to be believed. Has she achieved “younger-looking skin?” Does she “bulge in the wrong places?” Does she know “what not to wear?” We’ll never know.

The names of the daughters tell us why.

[bctt tweet=”The beauty of a woman restored in Christ is who she is and not what she puts on.”]

A restored woman is a sweet aroma and like honey in the presence of God.

4. God knows the name of every woman

Your name is listed in the book of life. Jesus Christ died so that all the Triune God can whisper your name with delight. You’re free to sing passionately with Tommy Walker in worship, “I have a Maker, He formed my heart. Before even time began, my life was in his hands. He knows my name…” God even has a tattoo of your name on his hand. Isaiah 49:16

5. Dear Woman, Do you know the Bible says you’re beautiful?

No matter what the media says or what society’s norms are, you’re beautiful. God’s works are wonderful. The stars in the sky and the mountains around, they all testify to one thing, “You are fearfully and wonderfully made.” Psalm 139:14

6. It’s true, the Bible says men and women are equal in Christ

The restorative work of the Cross has made men and women one in Christ. Anyone who believes in Christ has clothed herself or himself with Christ. For that reason, “There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” Galatians 3:27-28

[yellow_box] Gender neutral God, Bible or female God is settling for less. You’re more. The express image of God’s glory. You’re a restored creation and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. [/yellow_box]

Was this post helpful? Please, let me know. Did it change how you view yourself and God’s word on women? Then share with your friends.

37 Comments

  1. Good post! I noticed that too when I read the book of Job. I read it a lot when I get depressed. Interesting about Job’s decision to honor his second set of daughters. I wonder if his sufferings softened him to the plight of women in his society along with other underdogs.
    By the way, I have no problem with calling God “He” or my “heavenly Father.” I think some feminists must not have experienced love from their earthly dads.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Thank you! Your heart is showing by posting this one…your tenderness and the honor you have for not only our Father in heaven, but also toward women. I believe Papa is smiling today. Many blessings…

    Like

    Reply

  3. It’s a blessing that you saw Christ in me when we first met instead of my dressing because I didn’t have clothes that could be pleasing if you were one of those who considered dressing ( messing with you Edmond) but I praise God that I’m more than I consider myself. Great post

    Like

    Reply

  4. Very well stated Edmond! I love that you not only read, but studied the book of Job. Is it not great how the Word is alive, that each time we read it, we see more? We get a needed and helpful chunk of revelation knowledge as we study. It sure makes sense that It is referred to as The Book of Life and Our Daily Bread. Years ago as a youth, I could barely make myself read the book of Job. It seemed laborious and my view of God was negative. I saw him has cruel and caring little for Jobs first family or wife. I felt He valued man more than woman. But years later, after receiving the baptism in the Holy Spirit and things that were not visible to me began to be visible. I began reading Job and I saw how his first wife responded to what the devil was doing to Job, it was clear to me that just like his friends they believed wrongly about God and his first wife rather than to comfort him sought to convince him to turn away from God and even to end his own life. We never heard word about her after God restored Job and multiplied back to him all that the devil had taken. Job was right, she was foolish and even though Job was reproved for misunderstanding God, He blessed him. I love that His friends escaped consequences partly due to their obeying what God told them to do, but most importantly not because of their own prayers on their behalf, but Jobs.

    I love that you expressed:
    Job’s restoration meant the recovery of biblical womanhood. (I can see this in the scripture you shared)
    A restored woman is a sweet aroma and like honey in the presence of God. (Amen!!!)

    Thanks for sharing!
    Your friend Amy

    Like

    Reply

    1. I used to steer clear of the book of Job, it made me angry at God. I lost my mom as a teenager and I hated God. Even after giving my life to Christ, I thought I got over it. It wasn’t true. I continued to harbor resentment toward God. God dealt with in his goodness, and this year I was free to study this book.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Also recall Rahab, the prostitute from Jericho who befriended the spies. She’s an ancestor of Jesus Himself. See Matt 1:. And there are all of the women named in the New Testament as critical to the new church. The atheists, I find, don’t often know what they are criticizing. Good post!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Thanks Edmond. Job’s story is a bit of a favourite for us. Our third daughter is called Jemimah Joy! Another interesting, but largely unknown, woman of the bible is Abigail. Her story also has a lot to say about the wisdom and leadership of women. I think the Spirit is going to help us understand gender theology better in the next few years. Shalom.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Amazing .The new Job had the mind of Christ. All are equal before the Lord . I’M blessed .May the Lord cont to bless you

    Like

    Reply

What do you think? Let's help each other!

