Do You really Love God If You Don’t Read the Bible?

Dear Christian, stop giving silly excuses on why you ain’t reading your Bible. You don’t read the Bible because you don’t love God. You claim you love and obey God, but from the look of things, he isn’t that important to you.

You have a boss to please, money to make, an exam to prepare for and a job to do. God? No, he isn’t that important. If God was important then you probably have read his Word today. Actually, every day.

It’s not legalistic to read the Bible every day. It’s not Pharisaic to have a Bible reading plan you stick to. It’s not self-righteousness to have a Bible reading schedule on your to-do list. It’s called discipline.

Discipline – something the age of deconstruction taught millennials to hate. You don’t discipline yourself so that you can earn righteousness, but because you believe God’s promises regarding the exercise.

You really think you’re embracing Christ’s grace by reading the Bible only when you feel like it? You’re not. You’re just being lazy, disobedient, and foolish. And you should be ashamed of yourself.

I got a scholarship to study in the US and left behind my wife in Zimbabwe. I called her daily and we chatted for two or three minutes. One month my phone bill was more than $300, that is 20% of my monthly income. I also sent her handwritten letters, regularly.

What if my wife didn’t read the letters, after all, we were talking daily? How would I react to that? It will be obvious that my wife had found someone else in my absence.

Here’s the truth, if you’re not reading your Bible you have found someone else.

You’re a dangerous person.

People shouldn’t trust anything you say because, without the schooling of God’s Word, your words are more venomous than a viper, more dangerous than a fox in sheep skin, and more hypocritical than a Pharisee. Out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speak, but your heart is empty of God’s word and full of excuses for not sparing 15 minutes in 1,440 minutes you have in a day.



On April 18th, Naked Christian will be moving to a self-hosted website to improve your reader experience. If you don’t want to miss out these uplifting, encouraging and edifying teachings, please subscribe and receive a life-changing ebook, When Christians Get Depressed, free!


Stop blaming Abington v. Schempp for your Bible illiteracy because the SCOTUS ruling didn’t ban reading the Bible in your bedroom or restroom but in public schools. You can’t blame the government, pressure groups or lack of religious freedom for the pandemic biblical illiteracy bedevilling your Christian life. The problem is this; you don’t love God anymore.

With all the advances in technology that makes it easier to read the Bible anywhere, and anytime, yet you fail to take advantage of them. That’s sad. No, that reveals something about how you view Jesus Christ and the message of the Cross.

I wanted to write on tools and tips for personal Bible study but didn’t.

It’s not the hoe that tills the ground, but the person holding it. If the person holding the hoe doesn’t like farming and doesn’t appreciate the benefit of growing crops, giving him a tractor won’t change anything.

My wife doesn’t like reading. You’re wasting your time if you buy her a book as a gift. Even if you hide money inside the book, she won’t find it. Yet, she read my letters several times. She even kept them in her purse and travelled with them every she went. Why?

…because she loves me. Above all, even if she hates reading, she reads her Bible because she loves God.

So, then why didn’t you read the Bible today? If you have any other reason besides your love for God has ebbed, then you’re still deceiving yourself. Wake up!

Do you remember the days after you found how amazing God’s love for you is? Do you remember how sweet God’s Word was on your lips, more than honey in your mouth? Do you remember how every word Christ said was more precious than gold? What happened?

This is the Word of God to you (Revelations 2:4-5), “Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love. Remember therefore from where you have fallen; repent and do the first works, or else I will come to you quickly and remove your lampstand from its place—unless you repent.”

69 Comments

  1. “…. if you’re not reading your Bible you have found someone else.” That’s right! I could also rephrase it as “…. if you’re not reading your Bible you have found something else.”
    I guess we all have things that we have given our attentions more than we have given to reading/studying the Bible. It’s time we refocused and reordered our priorities. Thank you Edmond for this wake up call.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  2. Shalom Ed,
    While reading the Bible is important, I believe that obedience to God,s Words are more. I have searched and can not find anywhere in the King James Version of the Bible that we are commanded to read our Bible. Yeshua/Jesus said “If you Love me, keep my commandments.” (John 14:15) Your articles very well written, but, unfortunately it is misses the mark.

    To obey is better than to sacrifice. (1 Sam 15:22) We have been led astray to believe that God’s commandments are NOT for us today. But, If YeHoVaH is “the same yesterday and to day and for ever” (Heb 13:8) then His Word is also, What do you think?

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    1. Thank you Bro Bob for the comment. Indeed, God’s Word doesn’t change as he is unchanging. Throughout the Scriptures you find God through prophets instructing his people to abide in his words. The first episode is found in the sending of Joshua. At that time, only the Pentateuch was available, but God instructed Joshua to abide in the instruction found there (Joshua 1:1-9). How could Joshua have known of the Scriptures is he didn’t study them regularly? Obedience entailed reading the word because only in it would he have found God’s precepts.

      2 Kings 22 and 23, gives a picture of what happens when people neglect God’s Word. Through Huldah, God reveals neglecting his Word tantamount to neglecting him (2 Kings 22:17). Israel neglected God, by neglecting the book of the law. God even honored Josiah for seeking to know the Word of God.

      You suggest that this article misses the mark by insisting that believers continue in the love of God by reading his Word and only obedience to God’s word matters. How then can one walk in obedience if they neglect God’s word?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      1. My take is that while bible reading / study is important, the bible does not constitute the Word of God. Jesus speaking to those learned in the scriptures in His days on earth said, ” 39 You study[a] the Scriptures diligently because you think that in them you have eternal life. These are the very Scriptures that testify about me, 40 yet you refuse to come to me to have life.”(John 5) – my understanding of this is that the reading/study of the bible / scriptures is beneficial to the extent it leads us to the Word of God, who is Christ Jesus. The Word of God is Christ Jesus, the law of God written in our hearts by the Holy Spirit as God has promised in the new covenant (Jer 31:33-34). Now, the Holy Spirit has been given for that very purpose, writing the law of God in our hearts and He does this as we read/study and meditate on the scriptures, listen to His voice through others indwelt by Him, and the rest of His creation. Yes, if we love God, we’ll want to know Him more through study / reading of the bible, but I am not sure it is necessarily accurate to say that one does not really love God if they do not read their bibles, otherwise we might be at a loss on what to say concerning our brothers and sisters who do not know how to read or have no access to bibles?
        Thank you Edmond for the reminder on this important discipline.

        Patrick

        Liked by 3 people

        Reply

        1. Thanks for the comment Patrick. You suggest that the Bible doesn’t constitute the word of God, how then can you quote that same Word and expect anyone to accept the quote? Yes, John 1:1, 1 John 1:1 and numerous scriptures confirm that Christ is the word of God, but how can we accept that as true if the Bible itself doesn’t constitute the Word of God? Who has the authority right now to say this is the Word of God and this isn’t? That person in so doing assumes more authority over the Word of God?

          Let us look then at the scripture you quoted. Does this scripture refute that denial or neglecting studying the Bible demonstrates a waning love for God? Probably not. Jesus is talking to scribes and Pharisees who sought to establish their righteousness apart from Christ. They thought they could enter God’s kingdom the merely studying the scripture. Is this what this post declared? A big no. I am only advocating for consistent communion with God through intimately reading of His word. How else can we know His heart part from His word?

          Concerning Christ writing the word in our heart, I totally agree, but why did the apostles devote themselves to the reading of scriptures, why did the early church continued in the practice of reading the scriptures, why did Paul say all scripture is inspired by God? The Holy Spirit has been given us to guide us in all truth and God gave us his word to make that easier. When I read the Old Testament the veil is taken off and I experience the beauty of that.

          You have mentioned about those who don’t know how to read. How did that person read this blog? How did they get the internet and find the person to read this for them? Everything written has an audience targetted for it. This post is for those who can find it and read it. Besides, I have lived with several people who couldn’t read, all of them asked me to read the Bible every day. If there’s a community that doesn’t have Bibles in their language, this post should inspire the reader to have the compassion to bring the Bible to them.

          I believe it is high time we should stop making excuses for indiscipline and lack of compassion. If I really think neglecting to read the Bible is reflects one’s attitude toward God, what am I doing about that? If God has shown me this problem it means he has equipped me with grace to reach that person. If God’s word isn’t that important why should we bother quoting it, because doing so means we think it is a mere tool for supporting our arguments?

          So, then if one can read (100% of the people who read this post can read) and own a Bible (88% of household in America owns at least 4 Bibles, that is 60% of the people who read this post have more than 4 Bibles in their houses excluding the Bible apps in their phones) is neglecting/ignoring the Bible not a sign of waning or faded love for God?

          Like

        2. Edmond,
          I may be wrong, but you seem to misunderstand what I am saying.
          In the verse that you quote, John 1:1, the Word of God is revealed as God himself. It is in this understanding that I say that the bible is not the Word of God, but for lack of a better word, words about Him through which we can get to know Him better.

          If I may take the illustration you use about letters to your wife, the letters are very precious when you are apart, but when you are together, they probably would be only used to clarify some things written there. You will agree with me that the letters even though they speak of you and your relationship to your wife are not you.

          Concerning who is the authority on what is and what is not the Word of God, I believe it is the Holy Spirit, without whom even the reading/study of the scriptures will be the letter that kills.

          Having said that, I understand that the purpose of this post is to challenge believers not to excuse themselves from the discipline of reading/studying the scriptures, and therefore I would want to avoid any diversion from that purpose. As stated in my earlier comment, I believe it is important to read the bible as it was recorded to reveal Christ to us.

          Out of curiosity, you say in your comment, “When I read the Old Testament the veil is taken off and I experience the beauty of that. “. I am wondering how that is considering 2Cor 3:, “15 Even to this day when Moses is read, a veil covers their hearts. 16 But whenever anyone turns to the Lord, the veil is taken away.”.

          Patrick

          Like

        3. Thanks Patrick for the clarification. It seems you and I are in agreement, I owe you a cup of tea for the misunderstanding (your country produce the best tea I know, I will make my grandma’s brew). When reading the OT in the presence of Christ and eyes affixed on him alone, the beauty of the Word is revealed.

          Liked by 1 person

        1. I first wrote a nice post on techniques on effective Bible study. After reading it, I asked myself is this really what God wants me to say? The answer was a resounding no. The next thing, I am writing an article in a tone I hate. I post at 8 am Pacific time, but this post was delayed because I was afraid to hit publish. After finally publishing, the next big question was, do I stand by what I wrote?

          Liked by 1 person

        2. Really interesting. These impressions however are not always our own, but rather coming from the throne. If you can hear that voice, more power to you bro!

          Like

  3. So, you’re saying “if you don’t read your Bible, you don’t love God”??? I’m FOR reading the Bible, but in it’s essence the Bible is designed by God, Himself to lead us to an encounter with Him, and subsequently, an ongoing relationship! Your blog inspires not one single person to read the Bible! And….what about those who can’t read?? You can read the Bible all day long and still not know Him relationally. You can’t know someone by reading a book about them. You can only know them by interacting with them. Blogs like this one, and attitudes like yours, are the reason many people will never approach God. I’d be ashamed!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Thank you Andy for the feedback. I will not justify why I wrote this, explain how wrote it or reveal who told me to write it. I believe if this Word is from God then God himself will defend it, but if it is a fragment of my imagination born out of hatred of God’s people let me be anathema!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

    2. I’m landing in the middle on this one. While I wholeheartedly agree that we can and do become lazy and complacent in regards to studying His Word, acts will not save us so as no one can boast. A person could be incredibly disciplined with their study of the Bible, yet have no relationship with the author! He calls us to live out His word, so we should know it and study it, but more than “knowing” it, we MUST have our hearts invested in living it for His glory, and our good.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply

      1. Thanks Bobbi for the comment. This post is addressed to those who neglect the reading of the Bible. On several occasions, I have justified my lack of discipline in studying God’s word by comparing myself to those who are disciplined yet deny the gospel to transform them. This post only seek to talk to those who have excuses, like me, when it comes to reading the Bible. This is a shock treatment to people like me who have excuses for studying God’s word.

        Like

        Reply

        1. Shock away, Brotha! Confrontation is not always well received. We come to deliver the message and let Christ do the rest. This is a message we all need remember when we find ourselves making excuses. “oh I’ll just do it later” ha that’s my deceptive temptation! Getting up before the rest of my family to worship, pray, read the word and journal my talks with the Lord has been the best discipline God has given me. I can’t go a day! Not one day! My whole spirit feels off and I find myself immediately being invited to conform back to dead habits and thought patterns. Reading the word daily is vital to our health!

          Like

    3. For people who cannot read I’m hoping they have a great church homes, bible study weekly and great resources to help them understand the bible. This is the key to our eternal life. People reject God because they have become lovers of this world.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

      1. But seriously…..you CAN have a relationship with the Father without reading the Bible! I’m not advocating that when we do have the Bible. But you surely don’t believe that someone who can’t read can’t have a relationship with the Father….! I’m sorry but the key to eternal life is not reading the Bible! As important as the Bible is, it’s there to lead us to an encounter and then a relationship with God!

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply

        1. That’s true Andy, Christ said, “This is eternal life, that they know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom You have sent.” They are numerous reports from Africa and Muslim world were people found Christ without anyone preaching to them. My point is directed to those who neglect reading the Bible for excuses such as I am busy. How then can we continue in the encounter with God if we neglect his word? They was the purpose of this post.

          Like

  4. Edmond;
    I appreciate your willingness to declare what God places upon your heart. It is not an easy way my friend,this way of the cross. It is very costly as you are learning,and few are willing to pay the price of obedience. I would encourage you to not only stay in the word,but continue to prayerfully seek his guidance. It is in the word that you learn about God,but it is through prayer that you become intimate with him.

    Based upon the comments so far I would say most are encouraged or challenged by your post to read their bibles,so please…press on!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  5. His love letters to us–perfect blog, Edmond. Thanks for having the courage to say what you’ve said. I am so grateful for the desire He’s given me to pour His Word into me first thing every day!! I pray that same desire for everyone!

    Like

    Reply

      1. You will never understand just how much I wanted someone to say what you said in this blog. You know: someone besides God! And your comment: iron sharpens iron. : ) I am grateful for you, too!!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  6. Many fail to read simply because they may believe they know what it says. Or possibly they feel intimidated by seeing how large it is as a whole. Others only read small sections. As a non-believer I make it a point to know what the biblical literature says. For how would I be able to carry out counter missionary work or debate some street preacher. I need to know the text and more in order to be persuasive. One can not use simply rhetoric alone! Even most of the “New Atheists” are uneducated on biblical history and literature. And it sure hurts my ears to hear them talk about it. Well said! It is said even the Satan know the texts!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    1. Thank you for the feedback. I hope people who are objecting the need for Christians to love the Bible would read your comment. If people who are non-believers advocate for reading the Bible, how much more should believers desire to read the Bible?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  7. Love it!But…always is a but.
    For me is “Do You really KNOW God if you don’t read the Bible and how you justifey your love for someone that you really do not know?”
    For me is very important the ready of bible and is something that always im asking people. “Do you read the Bible?” . There are many christians that believe that they know God but they touch the bible only Sunday.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    1. Thanks for the feedback. Just wondering, when you really know God, wouldn’t you love him? Or is it when you live God, you would really want to know him? The kind of reading I am advocating is the type that stems out of love for God.

      Like

      Reply

      1. In my opinion…
        The bible has to be the guidance for our life. Yes, i can know God true other things, people, problems and more many. But, this is my opinion, everything has to be measured and investigate tru the eyes of bible. There is everything!
        One sister teached me something after i recieved Jesus in my life: “Everything that people tell you or happens measure tru the eyes of Bible, if Bible is telling you that is true and ok go for, but if is telling you that that thing is wrong wipe the dust from your feet. God will guide you tru the Bible!”
        The Bible teach us that the Word of God will last forever, also, that there are many false prophets and teachers that can do also miracle and teach us wrong things and that Satan can dress like an angel of God. If i do not read Bible how can i truly know God? i can’t put the preacher sermony from Sunday like a true for my life if i do not read what is God opinion on that, because sometimes God is telling us that the apple are green and the preacher comes and tells us that are pink with sparkles:)…I can’t build a relationship with God without reading the Bible
        I have many friends that they are telling that they love God and they are christians, but if you look to their lifes you will not see God there.
        When i first started to read the bible it was for me a revelation because the bible is telling that many things that happening now in the Church are not good and not from God. The more i’m reading the Bible the more i love Him… Every time that im reading i find out thing.
        What i want to tell here is that love is something that is not coming trough the night…is not fire…love is something that we learn through life. And more you know
        God more you see the color of the world.
        Edmond, thank you for your article …is remainding us from where we have to start to build.
        God bless you and your family.

        Like

        Reply

  8. “There is no shame or condemnation for those who are in Christ” (Romans 8:1). While I wholeheartedly agree with reading the bible daily (I have it on my to-do list and start each day in my war room), I don’t think shaming fellow believers is what Jesus would do, or how He would approach the matter. When I struggled with a religious spirit I would always post things on FB that were geared toward Christians who weren’t being obedient. It frustrated me. Then my pastor pointed out to me that it was a religious spirit and that others weren’t going to receive it, and if anything, it would push them away from it. My brother in law struggles with the same thing now. I actually unfollowed his posts on FB because of it. Everything he is posting is truth (just as I was posting) but it really comes down to the motive/feelings behind posting it, and how it could be received by others. We ultimately can’t change anyone. God is the only one who can. To call someone who doesn’t read their Bible a “dangerous person” is in a sense judging them . . . It just comes across as a “works” mentality. People need to read their Bible because they love God and want to seek Him, not because they feel guilted into it. It all comes down to love. Jesus is love. If we show love to others, they will want more of what we have, but if we show anger and disgust, why would they want to be what we claim to be? I really enjoy your posts brother, but I’m afraid this one just doesn’t sit right with me. Blessings.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Actually Jen, when I wrote this post I was judging and judgemental in every sense. Concerning if Jesus would say anything in such a tone, my original draft was in my normal nice tone. After reading the draft, I asked myself, “Is this really what Jesus wants me to say and the way he wants me to say it?” The answer was a big no. You can check how I write my previous posts to verify this.

      The problem in the church today is we are addicted to niceness. We want to please our hearers. We want a feel good gospel and anyone who calls us out to repentance is an emotional abuser.

      Would Jesus write what I wrote? Actually, those statements if you check came from Jesus’ very words I just quoted them. Reading the Sermon on the Mount over coffee might not give you the feeling those who first heard it felt. Why were people always outraged by Jesus’ words?

      What benefit is it is I write things that people agree with and I continue in disobedience to God? Why should I tell people I prayerful write, when I know I disobey God regarding how I write?

      Yes, Jesus is love. Unfortunately, we have reduced love to speaking well of something. We have reduced love to things that only makes is feel comfortable. In the end, we want a feel good theology.

      Should we dismiss the letters to the seven churches because they are strongly worded? Should we take out Hebrews 12:6 from the Bible because it says God chastens and punishes those he love? What about Stephen’s sermon, I bet he wasn’t inspired by God because he actually guilted his hearers? Or how about the sermons Paul preached, describing his hearers as lazy?

      Like

      Reply

      1. “No matter what good truths you have to teach, no one will thank you if you don’t speak kindly.” -Charles Spurgeon (Ephesians 4:32-5:2 ) Best wishes to you brother. 💞🙏🏼🙌🏼

        Like

        Reply

  9. Awesome brother! Athough I read my word everyday, but I meditate on “something else 😐” more… Thanks for this segment, maybe that’s the therapy I needed. “Do I REALLY Love God?” this was totally for me…

    Like

    Reply

  10. “Obviously, I am not trying to win the approval of man but of God. If pleasing people were my goal I would not be Christ’s servant.”Galatians 1:10 NLT
    My life’s verse….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  11. Again ED,
    You’ve shown some great wisdom in endeavoring, not just to please people, but to give them the truth as you Know it. Just a reminder, When Yeshua walked the earth, none of His followers had a Bible. They showed their love for Him by obeying His commands. He told them to Repent. Their repentance allowed Him to use them for His honor and glory. He is still calling us to do the same; Repent and keep His commands. (Which are His Father’s commandment’s)

    Some would ask which commandment’s? Now you have a reason and a purpose to read your Bible. Study Exodus 20:1-17, and Deut 5:7-20, not just read them, meditate in them. Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to you what He would have you to do, He will answer you, If your heart is right before Him.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

      1. I really love God. I agree with your post. We must read the word daily. Write letters to the Lord. Share God with everyone. I’m in love with God and I seek His face. I teach my kids to follow Him. I’m so thankful that He saved me. I will let everyone know that God is everything we need. AMEN!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  12. Reblogged this on HEAR IN THE QUIET and commented:
    “It’s not legalistic to read the Bible every day. It’s not Pharisaic to have a Bible reading plan you stick to. It’s not self-righteousness to have a Bible reading schedule on your to-do list. It’s called discipline.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  13. This article is incredibly unhelpful. And you seem angry and without compassion. It saddens me that I have a hard time reading the Bible. I’m actually struggling with this. Thanks for the guilt-trip.

    Like

    Reply

  14. This article (posted below) is actually helpful (giving me multiple things to pray about and confess before God, asking Him to change my heart)… it pretty much says the same thing (but gives more credence to the complexity of this topic), but without the shaming or assumptions about others character and/or intentions. Shame for writing something that lacks any real compassion for others or the effect this topic is having on the body of Christ.

    http://blogs.thegospelcoalition.org/erikraymond/2015/06/15/lets-be-honest-reasons-why-we-dont-read-our-bibles/

    Like

    Reply

  15. First of all, I would start out here that reading the Bible is very important, like it is essential for us to know Who God is, for our growth, and to keep us out of error and keep us accountable to God and His truth. Not reading the Bible and doing life with God is like going out to live in nature without having any knowledge how to survive and having a survival book and never reading it. Is it possible for someone to be born again and never read the Bible? I do not know absolutely, but based off Scripture it seems highly unlikely, as that is the way we grow, and become equipped to defend against the warfare we enter into when having the new spiritual birth, I would figure at some point, if a born again Christian isn’t reading the Bible at all, that their life is going to have circumstances that will push them in that direction, much like the person trying to live in nature being pushed to the survival book, for their survival, but those are just my thoughts. In some cases, people are legit when they defend against the topic of legalism or a spirit like the Pharisees, but in this dudes case, he is pushing his ambition of reading every day and disciplining himself onto everyone else as a principle to follow, and the truth is, God desires and is in a relationship with us, not a ritualistic discipline. Do we need to discipline ourselves at times, absolutely, but if getting into the Word every day and praying seems more like chore time, rather then an opportunity to spend with God, then these disciplines are taking the fore front of spending time with God. Sometimes we need to put the Bible down and just be with Him, not according to any man’s direction, but His direction. Every human being, without the aid and guidance of God Himself, turns relationship into ritual. Anywho, read the Bible under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, same with prayer, if you miss a day of not reading the Bible, your not going to hell, your not going to get a spanking from God, unless of course He is directing you to read, and you willfully rebel, He may chastise, He may not, Im not Him, but don’t let this guy make you think if you miss a day, your not doing good enough, Christ did the work, now we rest in Him, and as a result from relationship we read the Bible, pray, etc, under Christ’s Lordship, not a mans. But even with this said, do not let it take away from the dudes central message, we need to get into the Word on a regular basis, its our food, for we shall not live by bread alone, which is the means for our physical nourishment, but on every Word proceeding from the mouth of God, which involves our spiritual nourishment.

    Like

    Reply

  16. There are many things Christians do wrongly. At the very top of that list is actually reading the Bible as a mean of coping with life’s issues. The Bible is a tool to be used for one simple purpose, to be reminded of Christ, to be reminded of God and his love for us. The Bible has many progressive turns that many readers fail to notice. As a result, most readers become Bible promoters rather than living the gospel. Often, the conclusion will be, “the Bible is a great book”, and not “God is a loving God”. Then the message is lost and often forgotten. I really doubt that Paul would applaud the work of the Bible, mixing the old with the new. If reading the Bible is a Christian’s mean of hearing or listening to God, then he or she has no need for the Holy Spirit. The new covenant alone, as reminded of in Hebrews 8, goes against everything that the church is doing today using the Bible. If all the Bibles were confiscated, would the church be like the people of Israel when the scrolls of the law were lost? Did Christ leave us the writings of the disciples alone, or has he sent the Holy Spirit to be our living reminder instead? I often complained to my wife about not reading my cards regularly. She doesn’t have to. I’m alive living with her. Would God complain to us about not reading a compilation of historical records pointing to him? I don’t believe so. His Spirit dwells in us and that’s enough for now. By the way, God’s Spirit is not mute. The same reason that I wouldn’t tell my wife to read my cards when she asks me a question is the same reason God wouldn’t tell us to read the Bible when we talk with him. I’ve yet to find a verse where, for instance, Paul is handing out copies of the law to the Gentiles. I think that when we say that the Bible is the Word of God, we’re forgetting that what we’re saying that every single word found in the Bible was uttered by God. If Christ is the (final and complete) Word of God as Hebrews 1, John 1, put it, then what could we ever mean by saying “The Bible is the Word of God”? Would that mean to do everything it says then we’ll be fine? The church has blindly given the Bible more authority and priority than the new covenant itself who is Christ. Born to look and walk forward, the church now looks and walk backward as Paul complains to the Galatians. The Spirit is telling the new covenant to the churches. Not the new covenant plus the old. As Christ said to the churches in Revelation, “hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

    Like

    Reply

    1. I say this in love, you are self deceived to think that because we have the Holy Spirit, we don’t need the Bible. The Holy Spirit leads us into all truth, and it is the Bible where we confirm or get insight into what the Holy Spirit is teaching us in the spirit and leading us in the spirit, and to confirm that we are being taught by the SPirit, and not being lead astray by deceiving spirits that disguise themselves as angels of light. The Old Testament and the New Testament are relevant, and not only point to Christ, but reveal what our mission is, how to go about our mission, traps to look out for in life, how to discern real Christians from false Christains, or falsehood from truth, to confirm our salvation, for guidance in trials and tribulations, for direction in how to deal with persecution, or if you’ve fallen into sin. God uses His Word to communicate to us, and He uses His Spirit to reveal to us what His Word means. The Pharisees knew the Scriptures in and out, but didn’t understand its true meaning, we need the Holy Spirit to reveal to us what the Bible truly means. The Bible reveals the Gospel of JEsus, how to be saved, that works play not factor in recieving salvation. Man, if you truly believe what you stated above, seek the Holy Spirit’s will on the matter, and His guidance, and to lead you into truth, if that source guides you into believing what you have stated in the above, THAT IS NOT THE HOLY SPIRIT MY FRIEND, and I would do some God-searching to see if you are truly indwelt by the SPirit of GOd.

      Like

      Reply

What do you think? Let's help each other!

